India Competition Update: Commission & Appellate Tribunal Up and Running

Abdullah Hussain, May 14, 2010

Along with the substantive provisions of the Act being brought into force, the Government established the three member Competition Appellate Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) headquartered in New Delhi. The Tribunal is headed by former Supreme Court Justice Arijit Pasayat as Chairperson, with ex-Secretary Personnel, Mr. Rahul Sarin, and former Deputy Comptroller & Auditor General, Mrs. Praveen Tripathi, as its other two members.

In its brief tenure, the Tribunal has disposed of several pending cases under the MRTP Act with surprising speed and efficiency. Its jurisdiction under the provisions of the Act, however, has so far been invoked only once. The Tribunal took that opportunity to deliver a very telling judgment.